The Journey

Life is fleeting 


It’s a sad day for me. Depression is sad. I just found out my husband lost one of his cousins to depression. He decided to take his own life. My heart aches for him and his family. I understand what it is like to be in that dark place. There is no way you can understand what was going on in that person’s mind. It is death without closure.  Unless you have a true understanding of the illness or truly have the illness itself, it is an unsolved mystery.

So many times myself, I have wanted to end my own life. To escape the pain or just escape. I know how easy it is to just want to end it. I draw my strength upon God and my family. Not everyone has that. Not everyone has people around them that understands what they are going through or take the time to research the illness. Sometimes, no matter what you try to do, the person is surrounded by so much darkness that the only way they see out is to die. It’s so sad. So many lives are effected. 

The ones left here have to take the time to grieve. Times does heal, but you never forget. Remember life is fleeting. Remember to tell the ones that you love, that you love them, you may not get a second chance. Hug often, love more and remind them that they do matter. It is the little things that we remember not the big things. 

It is hard. It is sad. But there is help. It doesn’t mean you are week by asking for help. There are support groups, therapists and doctors out there to help you through. You are not alone in this. If you lost someone to suicide, there is support groups for you too. It is not weakness, it is strength. It takes a strong person to reach out for help. 

If you or someone you know needs help, please visit the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. You can also reach the Crisis Text Line by texting “START” to 741-741. Head here for a list of crisis centers around the world.

Leave a Reply

