The Journey

My Head is a Mess!

image

My head is a cluster of thoughts. Sometimes it is like a tornado swirling around with my thoughts and feelings. Maybe it is like flood gates that open and the water is rushing through.  Sometimes it is like a giant tidal wave coming at me and I cannot catch my breath. It’s different for everybody. When I feel like this, I just want to scream, as if that will help put everything in its place. There is not a cohesive thought. The more I think about it, the more my heads starts to physically hurt. Of course, the stomach is next. It amazes me how emotional pain turns physical, but it does. I try to calm the storm, but nothing helps for long. I think I will read a book, nope. Maybe I will work on a long awaited project, again, nope. I try and nap, which helps for a little while, but once I wake up, the swirl just comes back.

Make a List
I write things down to get them out of my head and onto something tangible. Maybe it is things I can do right away or years from now. I may keep it or throw it away. I have to get it out of my head.  Depending on what the list is, I will rewrite it to prioritize what can be done now and what needs to wait. How important is the task? What is the priority of the task? Even if you think it is something minor, write down.  Even the smallest of tasks completed is a major accomplishment when you feel your world is spinning out of control.

Exercise
I have a hard time with this one. Exercise is a great way to take frustration out or be in control when everything else is out of control.  Stretch for 5 minutes. Take a walk around the block or for just a few minutes. Don’t think about it, just do it for a few minutes. It is very important for people with a mental illness to exercise. It really does help to get the endorphines going and it is an accomplishment. I know, this is the last thing you want to do. I know, because I, myself, feel that way.  When I exercise, I feel like I have accomplished something for me. Not to please others, but for me.

Aromatherapy
Scent is a very powerful thing.  There are so many different recipes out there for many different ailments.  I got a diffuser for my bedside table to help me sleep.  There are so many different kinds out there, but you don’t something expensive.  I got mine at Amazon, here. I just add a couple drops of lavender essential oil.  I, also, make bath salts and air fresheners to help with my days. My bath salts really help relieve the tension. I have more in the making. My favorite is the tension tamer, soon to be listed, or email me for a special offer.

Meditate
This is another hard one for me, but once I get started, I feel so much better. There are so many different ways to meditate. Soothing music, breathing, and mindfulness meditation.  I learned different techniques while I was in the hospital, but needed help when I got out.  I found a few great apps for my phone. They are wonderful in getting to relax.  I suggest Calm, Meditation Studio or Relax Melodies. I am an Amazon Prime member and use the Amazon Music app to help me sleep.  There are tons of relaxation tunes. Everyone should be able to find something to help them relax. I love the sleep and Zen music.

There are so many different techniques you can use to help clear the mind.  If all else fails, get down on your knees and pray.  It’s okay if you don’t know what to say and all you can do is cry. Keep the faith and hope alive, even in the darkest of times. If you need help praying or someone to listen to, I will help you.  Please feel free to message me.  You can, also, reach me through my Facebook page The Bipolar Momster.  God bless and this helps.

Leave a Reply

